The MOT test is changing - What you need to know

May 2018 will see a change in the way that MOT testing is carried out. The Driving and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) are making changes to the way the test is being completed. This will affect all the testing, procedures and standards for MOT tests in England, Scotland and Wales.

It is important to understand what the changes are to the MOT test.

The DVSA will provide MOT testers with an updated manual, which will be introduced in May and will be used by all authorised MOT testers across the UK. Whilst the final manual has not been published yet, the government has issued a draft manual which highlights the changes. This is not confirmed yet and changes may still be made before the final manual is issued in May.

The way defects are being categorised has now changed:

Every defect which is now found in an MOT test will be categorised as either Dangerous, Major or Minor. Manual advisories will be no longer given. Dangerous and major defects will cause your vehicle to fail its MOT test. Minor defects are similar to advisories and the vehicle will pass its MOT if it only has minor defects.

Having changed the way the defects are being categorised, the DVSA hope it will allow drivers to be more aware of which areas of their vehicle that need focusing on.

The checks on vehicle exhaust emissions:

When testing for vehicle exhaust emissions new limits are being implemented. Lower limits are being put in place especially for diesel cars.

The exemption of classic cars:

If an older vehicle is registered as a ‘vehicle of historic interest’ with the DVLA, and is not extensively modified, it may be exempt from statutory MOT testing. This is only applies on classic cars and must be on vehicles over 40 years old.

Additional items that have been added to the test:

Extra elements of the draft manual have been highlighted by the DVSA which must be now checked whilst carrying out an MOT test, these include:

  • Front fog lamps and daytime running lights which were fitted to vehicles first used from 1st March 2018.
  • Reversing lamps fitted to vehicles first used from 1st September 2009.
  • Steering gear casings and ‘fly by wire’ steering systems
  • Endurance braking system (this usually only applies to larger vehicles such as caravans)
  • Noise suppression systems, including exhaust silencers
  • Anti-theft devices

An MOT is carried out once a car is three years old and continued yearly thereafter. The Department for Transport has decided to keep this period the same when the new MOT testing is implemented.

Changes to the MOT Test are a result of changes to the EU roadworthiness directive. The changes are being made to the way MOT test is being carried out in order to comply with this.

The structure of the test has been improved in the hope the results are easier to understand for customers.

If you would like any further information on this or have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in contact with us by clicking on the buttons below.